Forest through the Trees

I’m formatting my novel for the printer.  I have already proofread it once before the format.  I concentrated on each word of every scene making sure everything was perfect.  But then I got the font I want and I changed the paper size.  To make sure everything with the format was perfect I quickly scanned each page.  It was only then that I realized that there were scenes missing.  The formatting went OK.  I didn’t lose any scenes.  I had never written them.  These aren’t vital scenes.  The  story still works without them.  But they are logical scenes.  They flesh out the characters and the story.  In my quest for perfection in my writing I lost sight of the bigger picture.  I failed to see the forest through the trees.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment