Branching Out

Well, I’m in Phoenix.  I’ve seen all my old friends and let me tell you, it’s good to be back. The only problem is I still have not found a job, and in this economy it looks like it’ll be awhile before I do. The Staff of Rahgorra isn’t selling, mostly because the only marketing I’ve done is Facebook and some Twitter.  Sooo, I’ve decided to hire a PR firm, Pump up Your Book Promotion PR, and schedule a virtual book tour through them.  They came very highly recommended and I know they will do exactly as their name says.

I also did some research on author compensation by traditional publishers.  My friend and cover designer Nance Walz pointed out that I own Conquer Publishing and there is no reason I have to limit myself to publishing my own work.  Hence the compensation research. Anyway, long story short, I can handle the author compensation. Even with the cost of cover design and promotion, I should be able to start taking submissions soon. But this will not be vanity publishing. I will be very selective about whom I publish and there will be no upfront cost to the author. Authors are looking to make money, not spend it.

This entry was posted in Business, Self Publishing, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

