The State of Self-Publishing

I’ve been told that the general tone of my posts needs to improve, that I’m being too pessimistic and critical. I can see that. I have tried in my last couple posts here and on Facebook and Twitter to be more up-beat. I would like to apologize to Lee Doty for the harshness of my last post. From the comment, Lee seemed to take my criticism in stride. Nonetheless, I am sorry.

That being said, I am going to be harsh and critical and pessimistic in this post. I also apologize for this in advance, but I think it needs to be said. I stated in my last post that I got a Kindle for Christmas. I have put that Kindle to good use over the past few weeks. But money is tight. So tight in fact that I’ve starting downloading free books, mostly from Smashwords.com. I’ve read a few of these in the past couple weeks and I have been far from impressed. Let me stress that these are FREE books. I understand that. These are not the cream of the crop when it comes to self-publishing. But if these books are any indication, it’s no wonder self-published books often get a bad rap. The punctuation, grammar, sentence structure and even the formatting of these books are atrocious, some books worse than others. A simple proofread and spell check would make most of these problems glaring.

If self-published authors and small publishers want to compete in this new publishing world that the internet and POD have created, then we have to put out a product that is better than that of the larger houses, not the garbage I’ve been reading.

This entry was posted in Self Publishing, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The State of Self-Publishing

  1. Pingback: The State of Self-Publishing (A Year Later) | Conquer Publishing

Leave a Reply

