Ferris is 25?

It’s hard to believe the Ferris Bueller’s Day Off came out 25 years ago today. I was 15 when it hit theaters and that movie came to define my teenage years. I was pretty much a dork in high school, so I identified more with Cameron and came to idolize Ferris. I’ve seen a couple “Where are they now?” articles on the web this morning. The cast are all doing their own things and they have clearly aged 25 years. But somehow I didn’t think I had? I mean, I’m the same person I was 25 years ago. Right? Sure I’m more experienced and at least a little more responsible. And I’m bald and the little hair I have is starting to go gray. But my views, my attitudes are the same.  Aren’t they? And then I realized that they weren’t. Age, experience and responsibility have brought on a not-so-subtle shift in who I am. And now I feel old! I know 40 isn’t old by most people’s standards but clearly I’m not a teenager anymore. And this realization has lead me to one, single conclusion…

Stay the hell away from “Where are they now?” articles! No good can come from them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

