What to do? What to do?

Hi everybody (every time I write that I can’t help but hear Dr. Nick’s voice from the Simpsons),

I’ve been going through a bit of a dilemma for the past month or so. I put out a call on several forums and discussions asking people to review The Staff of Rahgorra. The reviews have not exactly been what I expected. Basically the novel is getting slammed because of its similarities to Star Wars. First, before I go any further, I want to thank those reviewers for their honesty. Although I knew The Staff of Rahgorra was similar to Star Wars, clearly I was too close to my novel to realize just how similar. Several reviewers also commented favorably on my writing style and ability, which gives me hope. Again, thank you all for your honesty.

Which brings me to my dilemma. Do I continue working on the sequel? (Which might be seen as another Star Wars clone) Should my next novel be a new and (I hope) completely original story set in the same universe and featuring many of the same characters? Or do I abandon the Staff universe for the time being and write another story I’ve been developing?

I’ve been kicking all three options around for a while now. I’ve also been exchanging emails with one of the reviewers (I’m not naming him because I don’t have his permission.). I’ve explained the plot and storyline of the sequel to him and he assures me that its not another Star Wars clone. He’s also offered to read what I’ve written so far. So as soon as he gives me his opinions I’ll start working on the sequel once again.

This entry was posted in Science Fiction, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

